Faculty and Staff

Faculty

  • Dr. Clayton Parr

    Professor - Director of Choral Activities, Choral Conducting, Choral Music Education

    Faculty Profile

    Office: Goodrich Chapel T-1
    Email: cparr@albion.edu
    Phone: (517) 629-0251

  • Dr. Ji Hyun Kim

    Visiting Assistant Professor - Violin/viola and Orchestra

    Office: Goodrich Chapel
    Email: jkim@albion.edu
    Phone: 517/629-0481

  • Rufus Ferguson

    Visiting Assistant Professor - Jazz and Popular Music

    Office: Goodrich Chapel
    Email: rferguson@albion.edu
    Phone: 517/629-0481

  • Toni Myers

    Assistant Director of Bands

    Office: Goodrich 116
    Email: almyers@albion.edu
    Phone: (517) 629-0936

Staff

  • Hope Anderson

    Department Secretary

    Office: Goodrich Chapel
    Email: hbanderson@albion.edu
    Phone: (517) 629-0481

Applied Music Faculty

Keyboard

  • Dr. Lia Jensen-Abbott

    Professor - Piano

    D.M.A. (piano performance) University of Nebraska-Lincoln
    Performer Diploma from Indiana University
    M.M.and M.A. in (piano and music theory) Pennsylvania State University
    B.M. (piano performance) University of Nebraska-Lincoln

    Faculty Profile

    Email: ljensen@albion.edu

  • Nicholas Laban

    Head Collaborative Pianist

    M.M., 2013, Western Michigan University
    B.A., 2011, Albion College

    Profile

    Office: Goodrich T-4
    Email: nlaban@albion.edu

  • Elena Solero

    Collaborative Pianist

    M.M. 1984, Bowling Green State University
    B.M. 1982, DePauw University

    Profile

    Email: esolero@albion.edu

  • Jackie Livesay

    Applied Instructor - Organ

    M.A. in Education, Spring Arbor University
    M.M. University of Michigan
    B.M. Westminster Choir College

    Email: jlivesay@albion.edu

  • Rufus Ferguson

    Visiting Assistant Professor - Jazz and Popular Music

    M.M. and B.M. (jazz piano) Western Michigan University

    Email: rferguson@albion.edu

Strings

  • Ellen Grafius

    Applied Instructor - Harp

    B.M.E., 1970, Michigan State University

    Email: egrafius@albion.edu

  • Mark Mathias

    Applied Instructor - Double Bass

    M.F.A. Eastern Michigan University
    B.M. The University of Michigan

    Email: mmathias@albion.edu

  • Daniel Palmer

    Applied Instructor - Guitar, Guitar Ensemble

    M.M. 2013, University of Toledo
    B.A. in Music Performance, 2011, Albion College

    Email: dpalmer@albion.edu

  • Dr. Ji Hyun Kim

    Visiting Assistant Professor - Violin/viola and Orchestra

    D.M.A. (contemporary music performance and music therapy) Michigan State University
    M.M. Michigan State University
    B.M. (violin performance) Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Australia

    Email: jkim@albion.edu

Winds and Percussion

  • Dr. Cynthia Duda

    Applied Instructor - Bassoon

    D.M.A. Bassoon Performance, Michigan State University
    M.M. Music History/Literature, The University of Akron
    M.M. Bassoon Performance, Western Michigan University
    B.M.E. Music Education, Bowling Green State University

    Email: cduda@albion.edu

  • Dr. Matthew Kay

    Applied Instructor - Trumpet

    D.M.A. 2017 Michigan State University
    M.M. 2009, Houghton College
    Post Graduate Diploma in Music Performance, 2005, University of Salford
    Post Graduate Certificate in Education, 1999, University of Leeds
    B.M., 1996, University of Huddersfield

    Faculty Profile

    Email: mkay@albion.edu

  • Nathan Salazar

    Applied Instructor - Saxophone

    M.M. in progress, Michigan State University
    B.M. 2020, Arizona State University

  • Nick Schumacher

    Applied Instructor - Clarinet

    D.M.A. in progress, Michigan State University
    M. M. Michigan State University
    B.M. University of Northern Iowa

  • Dr. Emily Dierickx

    Applied Instructor - Flute

    D.M.A. 2020, University of Miami, Frost School of Music
    M.M. 2017, The Ohio State University
    B.M. 2015, Michigan State University

  • Nathan Wood

    Applied Instructor - Euphonium

    D.M.A. in progress, Michigan State University
    M.M. 2018 University of Central Arkansas
    B.M. 2015 Sam Houston State University

Voice

  • Jenny Ribeiro

    Adjunct Faculty - Voice

    M.M. 2022, in Voice Performance, Michigan State University
    B.M. 2006, in Voice Performance, Central Washington University

    Faculty Profile

    Office: Goodrich Chapel T-7
    Email: jribeiro@albion.edu

  • Robert Doyle

    Applied Instructor - Voice

    M.M. candidate in organ and church music, University of Michigan
    M.M. 1992, University of Texas, Austin
    B.M. 1985, Michigan State University
    Certified at Level 3 in Somatic Voicework(sm) – The LoVetri Method

    Email: rdoyle@albion.edu

Music Education

  • Robert Livingston

    Brass Teaching and Techniques

    Brass Teaching and Techniques
    M.M. in Wind Conducting 1998, Michigan State University
    B.M. 1979, Northern Michigan University

    Email: rlivingston@albion.edu

  • Dr. Clayton Parr

    Secondary Choral Music Education

    D.M.A. in Choral Conducting, 1990, Michigan State University
    M.M. in Voice Performance, 1989, Michigan State University
    M.M. in Choral Conducting, 1987, Michigan State University
    B.A. 1980, Albion College

    Faculty Profile

    Email: cparr@albion.edu

  • Stacey Root

    Elementary Music Education
    M.A. in Music Education, 2010, Michigan State University
    B.A. in Music Education, 2002, Michigan State University

    Email: sroot2@marshall.k12.mi.us

Faculty Emeriti