Scholarships and Awards

Physics students’ academics are enriched by research, travel, speakers, and more. Since these types of expenses are not covered by tuition, and many are cost-intensive, it is important that our department continues to enhance these student experiences and reduce financial barriers.

If you would like to make a difference in our Physics Department’s student experiences, please consider investing in the Physics Department Gift Fund. There are many areas currently in need of support, including student and faculty research expenses, speakers, student and faculty travel, curricular initiatives, and equipment. When contributing to this fund, indicate your specific preference of support in the “purpose for your gift” field of the giving form and 100 percent of your gift will go towards your designation.

Annual Awards

Student using a screwdriver to put together a project.The E.T.S. Walton Award is a prize established by Nobel Laureate E.T.S. Walton and is given annually to the outstanding senior physics major. This award consists of a technical book and is announced at the Honors Convocation in April.

The Howard E. Pettersen Prize is given to the outstanding sophomore physics major each year. This prize was established to honor Professor Emeritus Howard Pettersen, who was a member of the physics faculty for 41 years. The prize is announced at the Honors Convocation in April.


The following scholarship awards for students were established by the generous donations of the Kammers, the Rickers, Norma Taber, and alumni and faculty.

The Dorothy & David Kammer Scholarship in Physics Toggle Accordion

The Dorothy and David Kammer Scholarship in Physics was established by the Kammers to support highly qualifiied students in pursuit of a major in physics at Albion. David Kammer is an emeritus member of the Physics Department Faculty. The scholarship will be awarded to current or incoming students who intend to major in physics.

Charles W. Ricker Scholarship in Physics Toggle Accordion

The Physics Department is proud to announce the Charles W. Ricker Scholarship in Physics. This Scholarship shall be awarded to worthy and deserving students who intend to, or are majoring in Physics. This award may go to upper-class Physics majors and/or incoming freshmen.

Norma J. Taber Scholarship for Women in Engineering Toggle Accordion

This scholarship is presented each year to a Sophomoe woman or above (however a freshman could be considered if the student has an expressed desire to pursue engineering) who is a top female science or mathematics student with interest in engineering.  This award was established by Norma J. Taber, ’78, who completed the combined-course program at Washington University in St. Louis and has since had a very successful career as an engineer.

Alumni/Faculty Endowed Physics Scholarship Toggle Accordion

This scholarship is given each year to current or incoming students who are on either a physics or pre-engineering track and who have demonstrated potential for mastery of classical and modern physics. Financial need will be considered in the review of scholarship applications.