The Newell Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) is a component of the Albion College Strategic Plan. Our CTL Research Team, appointed in the fall of 2008, submitted a report to the Board of Trustees in May, 2009. In the fall of 2009, we informally reorganized ourselves as the CTL Committee. Since then we have acquired a designated space (Stockwell 305), a budget, a director, and a new name: The Newell Center for Teaching and Learning.

Committee Members

  • Suellyn Henke, Professor of Education
  • Troy Kase, Director of the Career and Internship Center
  • Lisa Lewis, Professor of Chemistry
  • Beth Lincoln, Professor of Geological Sciences
  • Ian MacInnes, Professor of English
  • Jill Mason, Associate Director of the Library and Head of Library Systems & Technology
  • Jocelyn McWhirter (Director), Stanley S. Kresge Professor of Religious Studies
  • Dan Mittag, Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Sarah Noah, Director of Instructional Technology & Web Development
  • Clayton Parr, Professor of Music
  • Katey Price, Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
  • Christopher Rohlman, Associate Professor of Chemistry
  • Marc Roy, Provost
  • Thom Wilch, Herbert H. & Grace A. Dow Trustees’ Professor in the Sciences
  • John Woell, Associate Vice President for Strategic Initiative and Academic Affairs