Athletic Hall of Fame

Friday, October 14 and Saturday, October 15, 2016

The purpose of the Albion College Athletic Hall of Fame is to recognize those individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the achievements and prestige of Albion College in the field of athletics. Men and women are honored either by virtue of their performance on athletic teams representing the College, or by meritorious efforts in years after graduation. An athlete must have earned two letters in one sport or one letter in three or more sports.

Register Now

Women who graduated before 1975 must have participated in the Women's Athletic Association (WAA). An athlete must have been an alumnus/alumna for at least 10 years to be eligible for selection.

Athletic administrators or others who are not alumni must have served the College at least 10 years to be eligible. An athletic administrator can be selected immediately after leaving the institution or immediately after retirement. A team is eligible if it has won an MIAA Championship and 10 years have elapsed since competition.

The 2016 Individual Honorees

  • Stacy Chapman Rich, ’03
    Women's Golf, 1999-2002
    A three-time all-MIAA first team performer who was a member of the Britons MIAA champion squads in 1999 and 2000.

  • Keith Debbaudt, ’01
    Football, 1998-2000
    A 2000 American Football Coaches Association All-American who was an all-MIAA first team pick in 1999 and 2000. He was a member of Albion's MIAA champion teams in 1998 and 1999.

  • Larry Downs, ’66
    Men's Basketball, 1962-66
    Averaged nearly 18-1/2 points per game to achieve all-MIAA first team distinction in 1965. A four-year starter for the Britons, he captained the team for two seasons.

  • Eric Johnson, ’96
    Baseball, 1993-96
    The two-time all-MIAA first team pick finished with an overall record of 20-6 and a 2.66 earned run average. A member of the MIAA champion teams in 1995 and 1996, Johnson held the MIAA records with 17 victories and a .850 winning percentage when he graduated.

  • Craig Miller, ’77
    Football, 1974-76
    A three-year starter on the football team's defensive line and a four-year starter for the club lacrosse program, he has made his mark internationally as the chief media/communications officer for USA Basketball.

  • Denise Routhier, ’99
    Women's Track & Field, 1996-99
    Gained all-MIAA distinction as a two-time league champion in the triple jump.

  • Hayden Smith, ’70
    Men's Track & Field, 1967-70
    The MIAA long jump champion in 1970, high jump runner-up in 1968 and place winner in four events in 1969. He was the Britons most improved track & field athlete in 1968 and co-captain in 1969 and 1970.

  • Jeri Stiles, ’67
    Men's Track & Field, 1965-66
    The two-time MIAA champion in the mile run was elected the Britons co-captain.

  • Michael Thomas, ’06
    Men's Basketball, 2001-05
    The three-time all-MIAA first team pick was a guard on Briton squads winning MIAA championships in 2003 and 2005. He sits second on Albion's all-time scoring ladder with 1,389 points.

  • Kurt Wiese, ’78
    Football And Baseball, 1974-78
    Nominated by Hall of Fame coach Frank Joranko and teammates, he played tight end in football and first base in baseball. He was a member of three MIAA champion teams (1976 and 1977 football and 1976 baseball).

The 2016 Team Honorees

  • Baseball 1995-96
    Led by MIAA most valuable players Brad Brown (1995) and Brian Myers (1996), the Britons compiled a two-year record of 28-8 against league competition.

  • Cross country 1964-66
    Albion went a perfect 18-0 in dual meets against MIAA rivals to win three consecutive league championships.

A ceremony honoring the recipients will be held on Friday, October 14, at 6 p.m. in Baldwin Hall. The event, part of Albion College Homecoming festivities, is open to the public. Tickets for the ceremony can be purchased as part of Homecoming online registration, or contact the Office of College Events: 517/629-0448, .

The College's athletics website,, has a full list of past honorees.