Holiday Vacation

Albion College recognizes and observes the following paid holidays for all full-time, salaried, administrative employees:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King Day
  • Good Friday (Half Day/P.M.)
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve Day
  • Christmas Day
  • Day after Christmas
  • New Year's Eve Day

Some employees may be required to work on a designated holiday. You will be advised by your supervisor if you are scheduled to work.

The College will attempt to accommodate an employee who wishes to observe non-Christian religious holidays.  However, the amount of holiday time off for observance of such holidays will not exceed the amount of time off allowed other employees.  Arrangements must be made through the Human Resources office at least two (2) weeks in advance.

2017 - 2018 Holiday Schedule

Holiday

Date Observed

Independence Day

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Labor Day

Monday, September 4, 2017

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Day after Thanksgiving

Friday, November 24, 2017

Christmas Eve

Monday, December 25, 2017

Christmas Day

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Day after Christmas

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

New Years Eve

Monday, January 1, 2018

New Years Day

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Martin Luther King's Day

Monday, January 15, 2018

Good Friday                                            

(Full day for union employees / Half day (12:00PM) for full-time, salaried employees)

Friday, March 30, 2018

Memorial Day

Monday, May 28, 2018

 

2018-2019 Holiday Schedule

 Holiday  Date Observed
 Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22, 2018
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 23, 2018
Christmas Eve Monday, December 24, 2018
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Day After Christmas Wednesday, December 26, 2018
New Year's Eve Monday, December 31, 2018
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King's Day Monday, January 21, 2019

Good Friday

(Full day for union employees / Half Day (12:00 PM) for full-time, salaried employees)

Friday, April 19, 2019
Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2019


Vacation

Full-time administrative employees will normally receive twelve (12) days of paid vacation during their first five fiscal years of employment, fifteen (15) days during the sixth through tenth years, eighteen (18) days during the eleventh through fifteenth years, and twenty (20) days after fifteen years. Employees may receive credit for prior work experience with the approval of the President or Vice President for Finance and Management.

Vacation time will be prorated for employees who work less than twelve (12) months in a fiscal year or less than eight (8) hours per day.

The total amount of vacation to which an employee is entitled for a fiscal year is received in advance at the beginning of each fiscal year and must be used by the end of the fiscal year.

Vacations may not be taken in increments of less than one-half (1/2) day.

An employee's supervisor will determine when vacations may be taken, and may allow the employee to use vacation time as soon as it is received.

An employee who leaves the College, and then returns to work within five (5) years, will receive credit for prior employment with the College.