News Archive


Live in I-Space!BritonBashFall2017 4web

The deadline to apply to live in the I-Space for this semester has passed; however,applications for next semester will soon be called for. To apply to live in I-Space, go to, click on building information, click on I-Space, then click on I-Space application.


The Spooktacular is an Albion College student-run event and takes place on Halloween for the community. Children and their parents gather in Upper Baldwin and assemble into groups before heading out to trick-or-treat along a designated route through campus.  Each group is led by a student volunteer.  Along the way, Albion College students involved in Greek life, athletic teams, special interest clubs and other student volunteer organizatons pass out candy.

To learn more about the Spooktacular and other Thriller Day events, click here.  

 Halloween 2015 3Halloween 2015 5

fiske-house-220A Language Learning and Living Area for Students and Teaching Assistants

Albion College offers language-learning housing for foreign language teaching assistants and language students in French, German, and Spanish. This residential space, called the I-Space, serves as a "living laboratory" where Albion College students can practice their conversational skills with fellow students and native speakers.

Laura and Empanadas F15

Students pledge to speak the intended language within their living quarters. Eligible students can earn .25 unit for residency in I-Space for oneChurros Luis semester and active participation in weekly programs in the student's respective language house as well as in cultural events for all I-Space residents. Students add this course during the first week of classes, once they have moved in.

In fall 2012, the I-Space relocated to Fiske House on the corner of Cass and Ingham streets.

For more information, as well to apply online, please visit the Office of Residential Life's I-Space page.

Students (and a Prof) Honored at 2012 Honors Convocation

Psychology named the winners of several departmental awards at the Honors Convocation, held on April 19, 2012:

Cari Drolet was this year's winners of the Heston Award, given to the outstanding psychology senior.

Ryan Walker and Cari Drolet were named as co-winners of the David K. and Patricia B. Hogberg Award for Excellence in Research in Psychology.

Katlyn Foster won the Kirsten Metalonis Memorial Scholarship (given in memory of Kirsten, who died shortly before she was to graduate in 1999).

Zach Kribs was awarded the Kirsten Metalonis Summer Research Fellowship.

In addition, the Neuroscience program awarded Emily Stephens the Ned Garvin Prize for Neuroscience, and the Human Services program awarded Lauren Berardo the Excellence in Human Services Award.

In addition, Jacque Carlson was named the Students' Choice Professor of the Year!

Susan J. Liioi Memorial Scholarship in Ethics

This scholarship was established in 1989 in memory of Susan J. Liioi, a student at Albion College whose life ended suddenly. It is awarded to an upperclassman who has shown interest and excelled in the study of applied ethics, regardless of major, sex, financial need, or overall grade point average.

Past scholarship recipients include:

2014 Kelsey Miller
Johanna Schulte
2013 Joseph Thomas
2012 Austin Probst
Cody Yothers
2011 Olivia Mikula
2010 Rose Massey
2009 Meredith Holman
2008 Matthew Baciak
2006 Peter Bornschein
2004 Brent Clore
2002 Nicole Stewart
2001 Kurt Medland
2000 Alexis Sanford
1998 Ruth Rashid
1997 Robert Jagerman
1996 Nicole Bilawski
1995 Brendan Woodburn
1994 Christopher Lee
1993 Catherine Carlyle
1992 Leslee Fritz
1991 David Holden
1990 Jennifer Fenton

Ned S. Garvin Endowed Scholarship in Philosophy

This endowed scholarship was established in honor of and in tribute to the life of philosophy and neuroscience professor Dr. Ned S. Garvin. It was first awarded in April 2007.

Dr. Garvin, or "Dr. G" as students called him, joined Albion's faculty in 1974. He passed away in June 2006 following a brief battle with cancer. He was a beloved and outstanding teacher and colleague.

Past recipients of this endowed scholarship include:

2014 Nolan Jones
2013 Zachary Crumb
2012 Christopher Mantay
Alexandra Sovansky
2011 Andrew Kercher
Brandon Markle
2010 Chelsea Marsh
2009 Meredith Holman
William Howard
Daniel Moilanen

More Articles ...