April 22, 2010 - Students Present Research At Elkin Isaac Symposium

Three mathematics and computer science students gave talks at the 20th annual Elkin R. Isaac Student Research Symposium.

  • Rebecca Putans, '10, spoke on "Fabrication and Characterization of Supported Metallic Nanoscale Catalysts: Toward ex situ Remediation Technology" Becca is a chemistry major with a mathematics minor. Her faculty sponsor was Dr. Kevin Metz (Chemistry).
  • Kathryn Wagner, '10, a dual mathematics and economics major, gave a talk entitled "Trigonometric Functions In The Biangular Plane". Her faculty sponsor was Dr. Mark Bollman.
  • Qian Wang, '10, a chemistry major with an applied mathematics minor, gave a talk on "Cavity Ring-down Spectroscopy". Her faculty sponsor was Dr. Craig Bieler (Chemistry)

The purpose of the Elkin Isaac Student Research Symposium is to honor excellent student research, scholarship, and creative activity. The participants are nominated by their faculty sponsors after having participated in independent research that results in the significant synthesis of new knowledge. The research must have been performed under the direct supervision of an Albion College faculty member, or in a College-approved off-campus program. This year over 100 students presented their research.

April 22, 2010 - Departmental Award Winners Announced

At the Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 22, the following students were recognized for excellence in mathematics and computer science:

  • The E.R. Sleight Award in Mathematics, given to the outstanding senior mathematics major, was awarded to Kathryn Wagner.
  • The Ronald C. and Carol J. Fryxell Award in Computer Science, awarded to the outstanding senior computer science major, was given to Robert Sessions and Michael Smar.
  • The James R. Lancaster, Sr. Award in Mathematics, given each year to a junior mathematics or computer science major who best exemplifies the liberally educated mathematics or computer science student, was awarded to Chris Creighton and Rachel Kamischke.
  • The Ronald C. and Carol J. Fryxell Scholarship in Computer Science was awarded to Geoff Keyes and Andy Malicowski.
  • The Louis R. Bragg and Mary Huemiller Bragg '69 Endowed Scholarship in Mathematics was awarded to Rachel Kamischke, Sophia Potoczak, William Spencer, and Mingjia Yang.

April 22, 2010 - Kathryn Wagner's Thesis Receives Jenkins Award

At the Honors Convocation on April 22, Kathryn Wagner's honors thesis, "Trigonometric Functions in the Biangular Plane", was recognized with the Edmund and Kathleen Jenkins Award. The Jenkins award rewards outstanding student research by members of the senior class, and is presented to four students from the Prentiss R. Brown Honors Institute each year. Kathryn's thesis research was supervised by Mark Bollman and supported by a FURSCA grant during the summer of 2009. Nadiya Fink and Darren Mason also served on her thesis committee.

May 5, 2010 - Albion Triumphs In Lower Michigan Mathematics Competition

The results of the 34th Lower Michigan Mathematics Competition, held at Grand Valley State University on April 10, have arrived, and Albion College is the new champion. Albion's team #1, consisting of Chen Chen, Mingjia Yang, and Sining Gu, scored 90 points on the 100-point exam to take first place by 19 over Kalamazoo College's top team. Team #2, comprised of Qian Wang and Yang Chen, scored 40 points to place 14th. 33 teams from thirteen Michigan colleges competed in the 2010 LMMC. Here are the top ten teams in order:

  1. Albion (90 pts.)
  2. Kalamazoo (71)
  3. Calvin (66)
  4. Calvin (64)
  5. Kalamazoo (62)
  6. Grand Valley State (60)
  7. Grand Valley State (55)
  8. Grand Rapids CC (54)
  9. (tie) Alma and Hope (50)

Albion previously won the LMMC in 2004 and 2007. The Klein Kup, emblematic of success in the LMMC, will be officially presented at a trophy ceremony in the fall. Congratulations to all of the LMMC participants!

More Articles ...