Department News

Lisa Colville '07 published Greenland climate research in Science

In a July 30, 2011 paper in the journal Science, Lisa Colville '07 et al. contend that Greenland was only partially deglaciated during the last interglacial time, 125,000 years ago. Lisa's paper , titled "Sr-Nd-Pb isotope evidence for ice-sheet presence on southern Greenland during the last interglacial" was a product of her M.S. thesis at the University of Wisconsin in Madison and was co-authored by her advisor and other collaborators. Lisa graduated with a B.A. in Geology from  Albion College in 2007.

Andrew Beck '04 Honored for PhD Work in Planetary Geology

Andrew Beck '04 was honored by winning two prestigious awards for a chapter of his dissertation that was published last year. The first, the GSA Pellas-Ryder Award, is given to the best student paper in the entire field of planetary science written in the previous year (see citation here). The second award, the Nininger Meteorite Award, is very historic and goes to the best student paper written in the field of meteoritics in the previous year.  

Meagan Bosket '09 awarded NSF Graduate Fellowship

On April 8, 2011, the National Science Foundation announced that Meagan Bosket '09 was awarded a  three-year NSF Graduate Fellowship to support her Ph.D. research at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Eleven Geology students to conduct research with faculty in summer 2011

Eleven current sophomore and junior Geology students will be collaborating with departmental faculty this summer as part of the college's Foundation for Undergraduate Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity (FURSCA) program.  This is the highest participation level in department history.  The students will receive stipends for the 10-week research season.

More Articles ...