News Archive

Britons Receive Teaching Fellowships

Albion College graduates Melanie Kapolka, ’11, and Kristen Karczewski, ’09, are among the first 92 recipients of the W.K. Kellogg-Woodrow Wilson Michigan Teaching Fellowship.

According to the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation, “The three-year fellowship is awarded to promising educators with strong backgrounds in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Fellows receive $30,000 to pursue a customized master’s degree program that prepares them to teach in high-need urban or rural secondary schools in seven local districts across the state.”

International Student Profile

Chen Chen, '11Chen Chen, '11

Chen graduated cum laude from Albion College in 2011 with a B.A. in economics and management.

Where are you from?
I am from Nanjing, China. I attended Nanjing Foreign Language School before coming to Albion College.

Why did you choose Albion?
I learned about Albion looking at U.S. News & World Report. I was impressed with the ranking, small size, personal attention, and research opportunities. I also liked the generous scholarships available for international students.

What is your favorite thing about Albion?
The professors! They helped me find my passion in life and were able to connect me to my future job. One of my favorite professors retired recently but I still stay in touch with him regularly.

What is your academic major?
Economics and management with an accounting focus. I am also pursuing physics as a minor.

What extracurricular activities are you involved in?
The Albion College Accounting Society. Every year, I volunteer to fill out people’s income taxes. I also help plan activities with the Chinese Student Union but mostly I am busy with undergraduate research (FURSCA).

What will you do after you graduate?
I will graduate this year and I already have a job lined up with Ernst and Young. I will be an auditor.

How much will your salary be per year?
Right now, my starting salary is $50,000 a year.

Why do you want to work in the United States?
I want to use my U.S. diploma to gain experience here so that within 10 years I can go back and work in China. By doing this, I can start at a higher level of income in China

International Students Interested in Economics and Management

A growing number of Albion College students come from outside the U.S.

Albion College welcomes international students, and a growing number of our students come from outside the United States.

Why Study Economics and Management at Albion College?

Albion's program in Economics and Management provides a pathway to a productive career in business, government, or nonprofit organizations. Our majors have had considerable success in getting good jobs after graduation or in gaining admission to selective graduate or professional programs. This success makes an Economics and Management degree from Albion College a good investment in your future.

Albion College provides a safe, supportive environment for academically talented international students who want to learn about America. Experience living and studying in America is especially valuable for those seeking careers in business or government because of the economic importance of the U.S. Having international students at Albion also enhances the educational experience of our American students.

International Interests of Economics and Management Faculty

Several faculty members in Albion College's Economics and Management Department have international interests:

Vicki Baker teaches E&M 362, International Management. She has supervised a management project conducted by a joint team of students from Albion College and from ESCIA, a business school in France. She visited France and Greece in spring 2011 in an effort to secure international project opportunities for Albion College students. As part of the Michigan Colleges Alliance (of which Albion College is a member), Vicki is part of the Global Leadership Development Program team for Shape Corporation (headquarters in Grand Haven, MI). Vicki is working with high potential individuals at Shape to train them for leadership advancement within the global company. She was in China and will be in Mexico as part of this executive education training which she helped develop and deliver.

Zhen Li received her B.A. degree at Peking University before obtaining her Ph.D. from Princeton University. She teaches E&M 363, The Chinese Economy; E&M 365, International Finance; and E&M 366, International Trade. She has done research on equity market liberalization in developing countries. She is a native speaker of Mandarin.

Greg Saltzman studied for a year at the London School of Economics and was a visiting fellow at the University of Warwick. He received two Fulbright grants from the U.S. State Department, one to teach labor relations at Jilin University School of Business in China (2008), and the other to teach labor relations and managerial negotiation at Hanyang University School of Business in South Korea (2015). He wrote one journal article comparing the health insurance systems in the U.S. and Canada and another journal article analyzing public opinion about labor disputes in the U.S., Canada, Norway, and Sweden. He reads extensively about the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.

More Articles ...